You can take our Beer Bikes, but you can never take our freedom

Today’s Guardian reports that a court in Düsseldorf (world renowned for its many excellent Fußgängerzonen) has ordered a ban on ‘beer bikes’ – basically mobile pubs on wheels, powered by your own drunken feet. Think the semi-mythical Fredalo incident, only on land. With all your mates. On a stag do. Then pissing in the streets.

But fear not: these contraptions are still available in dear old England. I passed one last Saturday during my cycle to the suburbs. It was a bit of a shock.

If memory serves they were parked just off the Putney end of the King’s Road*, and had come to the end of their pedal-powered lager adventure. It’s a shame I didn’t get to see them in full flight. Parked up, they were nice enough – all Australian, inevitably – and happy to pose for a photo. But when I mentioned the ones in Germany they got a bit angry.

“They copied us! Pedibus is the original and best! They’re just rip-offs!”

I wished them well, and headed on my way.

___

* West London is a bit of a mystery to me. I saw lots of porsches driven by Jeremy Clarkson look-and-dress-alikes.

~ by jamboshoeshine on October 7, 2010.

5 Responses to “You can take our Beer Bikes, but you can never take our freedom”

  1. It’s £26 per person for an hour! That’s a lot of beer money.

    • For that I’d at least expect free ice cream and balloons thrown in. And pork scratchings.

  2. Someone will probably try to correct your spelling of “Porsche” soon. Please don’t let them, this is a much better mental image 😉

    • I don’t really understand cars. I take my misspelling of the brand as a badge of honour, yet the stickler in me wants to correct it. I might toss a coin.

Leave a Reply

 
