Bill Callahan – Sometimes I Wish We Were An Eagle

2) Bill Callahan – Sometimes I Wish We Were An Eagle

Took me a while to decide on the order of my top two – there’s barely a cigarette paper between them. As a non-smoker, I believe that’s the first time I’ve ever used that phrase.

I was worried about former Smog frontman Bill Callahan for a while. His last album was unusually jolly, and I cursed his relationship with folk siren Joanna Newsom for luring everyone’s favourite diviner of dark and questing alt-country to the rocks of uncreative contentment.

Thankfully they split up and, as Callahan summarises in the wry opening track, “I used to be darker/then I got lighter/then I got darker again.” Sparse, bleak, melodic and somewhat mystical, Sometimes I Wish We Were An Eagle is best enjoyed by the fireplace of a remote cottage while awaiting the end times.

~ by jamboshoeshine on December 30, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
